Board of Directors 2023-24

President Marlene Madole 

1st Vice President Poppy Balser 

Past President Sandra (Sam) L. Boehner


Director Alice Bottrill

Director  Jean Pederson 

Director – Ellen Catherwood 

Director Elizabeth Gilbert 

Director – Wendy Hoffmann 

DirectorHelen Shideler 

Regional Directors: 

Atlantic Region – Gary McFarland 

Quebec RegionShari Blaukopf 

Northern OntarioLinda Finn 

Southern OntarioAnita Wood 

The Prairies RegionBrent Laycock 

British Columbia & the North RegionMarney-Rose Edge 


Membership Committee Chair Elizabeth Gilbert

Open Water Chair & Open Water Awards Chair 2023 – Rayne Tunley 

2025-2026 100th Anniversary Projects Chair – Marlene Madole 

Archives Chair Marlene Madole 

CSPWC Diploma Collection Chair – Marlene Madole 

Education Chair – Poppy Balser 

Fundraising, Chair Foundations & Grants – Marlene Madole 

Membership Chair Missy Acker 

Regina Symposium ChairTom Young, Big Skies Open Spaces, July 16 -21, 2023 

Killarney Excursion 2024 Co-ChairsMarlene Madole and Brian Atyeo 

Nominating Committee Marlene Madole

Royal Collection Project, Phase 3, the 2025 Collection – Linda Kemp 

Website Chair – Norman Choo 


The Canadian Society of Painters in Water Colour (CSPWC) was founded in 1925 by some of the most illustrious artists in Canadian Art history who passionately believed in the importance of water colour as a medium. The CSPWC encourages experimentation while honouring the transparent tradition of the medium.

With a strong base of volunteers, the CSPWC:

  • honours excellence in water colour through Open Water an annual juried exhibition with major awards, open to all artists.
  • presents regional, national and international exhibitions of work by members.
  • organizes workshops and demonstrations across the country.
  • collects contemporary and historical Canadian water colours.
  • online, streaming, in person learning sessions, and symposiums are produced and offered regularly.
  • Funded by a bequest of a long time CSPWC member, the Ethel Racius Award* is offered annually to a student of Central Technical School in Toronto – a high school specializing in arts education.

* Ethel Racius (1920-2006) became a member in 1963. Won the Honour Award (best in CSPWC Annual show) 5 years before her membership in 1958.  The Award started in 2007.